Christmas Suite

Away In A Manger – performed by the Gaudete Brass Quintet

Silent Night – performed by the Gaudete Brass Quintet

About Christmas Suite

Christmas Suite (2010) (ca. 5′)

I.  Go Tell It*

II.  Away In A Manger

III.  Silent Night

Video of Go Tell It will be coming soon!

Christmas Suite was commissioned and premiered by the Gaudete Brass Quintet in late 2010, just after work was completed on Three Impromptus for Organ and Brass Quintet.  Christmas Suite is comprised of a series of “re-compositions” of traditional Christmas carols created by re-imagining the traditional melodies through a new harmonic, textural, and orchestrational perspective, resulting in an accessible piece to the casual holiday-concert attendee, and a pleasant surprise to players and more experienced ears.

The original orchestration of Christmas Suite is for Brass Quintet, although there are plans in the future to arrange the suite or certain of the works within it for other mixed wind/brass ensembles or choir.   Regardless, there will definitely be more installments added to this suite over the years.

The score and parts for Christmas Suite are published by Glenlake Press.  To purchase, click here.

Do you have a traditional Christmas carol you would like to hear “re-composed”?  Please send us a note letting us know – your suggestion may end up in the next installment of Christmas Suite!

Be Sociable, Share!